News: Loewe Foundation Craft Prize 2022

The Loewe Foundation is calling for entries to the Fifth Loewe Foundation Craft Prize taking place in 2022, and applications are accepted from 20 July 2021 to 25 October 2021.

To get an idea about the type of works nominated to receive the Loewe Foundation Craft Prize in the past, there is an online showcase in the The Room.
Loewe is a Spanish luxury designer store specialising in designer clothing, leather goods, fashion accessories and perfumes. Founded in 1846, Loewe was acquired by LVMH in 1996, and became LVMH’s oldest luxury fashion house.
Loewe Foundation is an international award celebrating excellence in craftsmanship, and its mission is to promote creativity, educational programs and to safeguard heritage in the fields of poetry, dance, photography, art and craft. The Spanish government awarded the highest honor, Gold Medal for Merit in the Fine Arts, to the Loewe Foundation in 2002.

The LOEWE FOUNDATION seeks to recognise uniquely talented artisans whose artistic vision, technical skill and determination to innovate will set new standards for the future of craft.

How to participate

Read the Rules of Entry and make sure you comply with all requirements. All participants must be professional artisans 18 years or older. Entries may be made by an individual or collective (as a ‘group submission’). All nationalities are welcome.

Make sure the work: 
demonstrates artistic intent in addition to technical proficiency 
is an original piece, handmade or partly handmade 
is recently created (in the last five years), and one-of-a-kind, and has not won any prizes previously 
is innovative, in the sense that it updates tradition 
falls within an area of the applied arts, such as ceramics, bookbinding, enamelwork, jewellery, lacquer, metal, furniture, leather, textiles, glass, paper, wood, etc.

Complete the online registration in English 
You need 2 to 5 photographs of the work (or series) and optionally a video.
Write a brief conceptual statement about the work.
Submit your application by 25 October 2021.

Meet the Jury of the LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize 2022

From the shortlist, a jury composed of 13 leading figures from the world of design, architecture, journalism, criticism and museum curatorship, including Fanglu Lin, winner of the 2021 LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize, will select the winner of the 2022 Craft Prize.

The prize awarded to the winner is 50,000 Euros in cash and the announcement will be made in the Spring of 2022. The winning works will be featured in an exhibition and accompanying catalogue in Seoul in Spring 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *