焦点科技视频配件

Pivo Pod X 设计评论

2021年最具创新设计和令人耳目一新的产品之一


Pivo Pod X 是最新自动视频跟踪转盘,适用于智能手机相机的。它比之前Pivo Pod具有更先进的电影和合成 AI 功能以及更长的电池寿命。

优点缺点
  • 使用电影 AI 进行快速运动跟踪
  • 使用合成 AI 自动调整框架、角度、照明、对焦
  • 偷拍模式
  • 支持用 1/4″ 螺丝支撑三脚架
  • 电池寿命长
  • USB-C 充电接口
  • 配60m 范围的独立麦克风,可以跟以前的 Pod 配合使用
  • 它可能不适合某些带有厚手机壳的手机
  • 仅适用于 iOS 和 Android 的智能手机,不适用于平板电脑或任何(真实)相机。
  • 有些人可能会觉得 250 克很重。
  • 户外使用无 IP 等级(缺乏防水和防尘保护)。
  • 旧 Pod 的远程控制无法与新的 Pod X 一起使用。
  • 价格昂贵,355 美元。
Pivo Pod X
Pivo Pod X

设计评审要点

我们回顾了原型 Pivo X 的设计,发现设计师知识渊博,对细节的关注度很高,这使得产品功能强大且前景广阔。 由于几乎每个人都拥有智能手机,因此这种小工具很有可能得到广泛使用。

运动跟踪和人工智能

跟踪方法是使用图像跟踪来执行的。 多年来,光电(光学电子)跟踪或图像跟踪已经从用于军事用途的昂贵笨重的设计发展到消费者使用的相对实惠的袖珍小工具。

运动跟踪的主要挑战之一是径向速度(旋转),这是由从左到右移动的对象决定的。 物体越靠近,旋转速度越快,因此图像跟踪越困难。

在下面的照片中,Pivo X 的电影 AI 功能能够将跑步者保持在框架内并以框架为中心。 这令人印象深刻,因为它结合了智能手机的处理速度和数据传输,与 Pivo X 转盘同步以保持对移动物体的锁定。 也就是说,我们怀疑该设计只会使具有更好更快硬件的手机和内置摄像头的新智能手机受益。

Pivo X Runner
Pivo X Runner

物体尺寸和距离

除了快速移动物体的旋转跟踪速度外,另一个问题是系统可以跟踪物体多远或多小。 该应用程序只能跟踪它可以“看到”的东西,基本上它必须能够将图像与背景区分开来,而这将受到图像分辨率、光线和对比度的影响。

在这方面,可能很难追踪穿着迷彩制服在森林背景下奔跑的士兵。

创建者建议被跟踪的人、动物或物体必须至少覆盖屏幕尺寸的 10%。 跟踪的平滑度还取决于智能手机相机规格、照明和物体速度。 相比之下,军用级图像目标跟踪器可以跟踪更小的物体,但需要更好的硬件,超出了本文的讨论范围。

安装选项

目前,Pivo X 有支持 iOS 和 Android 智能手机的手机应用程序,不支持专用的数码或单反相机。 用户对之前的 Pivo Pod 的一个反馈是,该支架不适合带有厚手机壳的智能手机,例如 Otterbox 外壳。 但是,Pivo 有专门设计的安装方式,可使用夹紧方法进行更厚的安装。 下面是带有旧 Pivo Pod 的 Smart Mount(29 美元)的照片。

购买 Pivo Smart Mount 

Pivo Smart Mount for thicker phone
适用于较厚手机的 Pivo 智能支架,照片里是用以前的 Pivo 型号

Pivo 可以通过 1/4″ 通用螺纹安装到任何三脚架上,但 Pivo 也销售自己的可折叠铝制三脚架,可延伸至 1.6m(5′ 3″ 高)。 由于采用小底座三角形设计的方式,建议重量为 1kg 或 2.2lbs。 配备更大的 iPhone 13 Pro Max 或三星 S21 Ultra 的 Pivo X(250 克)重量不会超过 500 克。 尽管三脚架可以承受更重的负载,但它可能会感觉头重脚轻且不太稳定。

购买 Pivo Tripod

Pivo Pod X和Pivo Pod Red/Silver的区别

Tech SpecsPivo X (2021 新款式)Pivo Pod (现有款式)
规格(直径x高度)9.5×6.65cm6.3×7.3cm
重量250g176g
电池容量1400mAh500mAh
电池寿命全天10 小时 (用户反馈
充电接口USB-CMicro-USB
蓝牙版本5.14
最大承受重量450g1kg
零件远程控制 (Pod X only)
旅行袋
Pivo 独立随身麦克风
远程控制 (Pods Red/Silver)
旅行袋
Pivo 独立随身麦克风
Pivo 独立随身麦克风 规格
范围60m 范围
扣带方式弹夹扣
音质功能防风声,降噪音
重量15 克

上表显示了 Pivo Pod X 与现有 Pivo Red/Silver 之间的差异,其中有几项重大改进,例如 USB Type-C 端口、更大的电池、最新的蓝牙 5.1。由于某些未知原因降低了最大负载,但我们预计智能手机的重量不会高达 450 ram。

之前的 Pivo Pod 只有 500 mAh 电池,用户反馈电池续航时间为 10 小时。 Pod X 在 1400mAh 时的电池寿命接近 3 倍,但重量仅重 74 克。尽管如此,有些人可能仍然觉得 250 克是额外的携带重量,因为我们的包里装满了小玩意、充电器和电池。

最大的一个缺点是所有 Pivo Pod 型号都没有任何 IP 等级,这意味着它们没有经过防尘防水认证。任何户外小工具都应至少具有 IPX4 防护等级,以防止溅水和汗水。

以前 Pod Red 或 Silver 的用户可能想知道新的遥控器可能看起来很相似,但它们与新的 Pod X 不兼容,反之亦然。

评测总结

Pivo Pod X 是影响者、创作者或任何人自己制作运动跟踪视频的强大伴侣。 然而,我们认为 355 美元的零售价对于一个甚至不能防风雨的小工具来说太贵了,而大多数视频都显示了户外拍摄。

此外,以这个价格,我们认为他们应该提供至少 2 年的保修期,因为它没有任何经过认证的防风雨设计。

购买: Kickstarter – Pivo Pod X 

Show More

Related Articles

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。

Back to top button
error: Alert: Add url

AccessoriesHighlightsTechVideo

Pivo Pod X Design Review

One of the most innovative design and refreshing product of 2021


The Pivo Pod X review the latest automatic video tracking mounting for smartphone cameras, which comes with new advanced cinematic and composition AI features, and longer battery life.

Pros and Cons

Below are the key features and there are minor drawbacks that may not concern all users but are listed down just for your information.

ProsCons
  • Fast motion tracking using cinematic AI
  • Adjusts the frame, angle, lighting, focus automatically using composition AI
  • Candid camera mode
  • Support tripod mount with 1/4″ screw
  • Long battery life
  • USB-C charging connector
  • Separate mic with 60m range, works with previous Pods
  • It may not fit some phone with a thick phone case
  • Works only with smartphones with iOS and Android, and not tablets or any (real) cameras.
  • Some may find 250 grams to be heavy.
  • No IP rating (weather protection) for outdoor use.
  • Remote control from previous Pods cannot work with the new Pod X.
  • The full retail price of $355 is very expensive.
Pivo Pod X
Pivo Pod X

Highlights of Design Review

We reviewed the design of the prototype Pivo X and find that the designers are knowledgeable, with good attention to detail which makes the product capable and promising. There is a good chance that such a gadget will have widespread use since almost everybody has a smartphone.

Motion Tracking and AI

The tracking method is performed using image tracking. Optronics (optical electronics) tracking or image tracking has evolved over the years from expensive bulky designs for military uses to relatively affordable pocket-sized gadgets used by consumers.

One of the key challenges of motion tracking is the radial speed (rotation) which is determined by a moving object from left to right. The close the object, the faster is the rotational speed and hence more difficult for the image tracking to follow.

In the photo below, the Pivo X’s cinematic AI feature is able to keep the runner within and centred on the frame. This is impressive as it combines the smartphone processing speed and data transfer to synchronise with the Pivo X turntable to maintain a lock-on the moving object. That said, we suspect that the design would only benefit newer smartphones with better and faster hardware for both the phone and built-in camera.

Pivo X Runner
Pivo X Runner

Object Size and Distance

Besides the rotational tracking speed for fast-moving objects, another question is how far or how small can the system still track the object. The app can only track what it can “see”, basically it must be able to distinguish the image from the background, and this will be affected by image resolution, lighting and contrast.

In this regard, it may be hard to track a soldier wearing a camouflaged uniform running against a forest background.

The creator recommended the tracked person, animal or object must cover at least 10% of the screen size. The smoothness of the tracking also depends on the smartphone camera specs, lighting and object speed. In comparison, a military-grade image target tracker could offer to track even smaller objects, but require better hardware beyond the scope of discussion in this article.

Mounting Options

Currently, the Pivo X has phone apps to support iOS and Android smartphones, and it does not support dedicated digital or DSLR cameras. One user feedback on the previous Pivo Pod is that the mounting does not fit smartphones with thick phone covers such as the Otterbox case. However, Pivo has a specially designed mounting for thicker using the clamping method. Below is a photo of the Smart Mount ($29 USD) with the older Pivo Pods.

Buy Pivo Smart Mount 

Pivo Smart Mount for thicker phone
Pivo Smart Mount for thicker phones, shown with previous Pivo model.

The Pivo can be mounted to any tripod with the 1/4″ universal screw threading, but Pivo also sells their own foldable aluminium tripod which can extend up to 1.6m (5′ 3″ tall). Due to the way it is designed with a small base triangle, the recommended weight is 1kg or 2.2lbs. The Pivo X (250 grams) with the bigger iPhone 13 Pro Max or Samsung S21 Ultra, will not exceed 500grams in weight. Even though the tripod could handle a heavier load, it may feel top-heavy and less stable.

Buy Pivo Tripod

Difference between Pivo Pod X and Pivo Pod Red/Silver

Tech SpecsPivo XPivo Pod
Size (diameter x height)9.5×6.65cm6.3×7.3cm
Weight250g176g
Battery1400mAh500mAh
Battery lifeAll-day10 hours (user feedback)
Charging ConnectorUSB-CMicro-USB
Bluetooth Version5.14
Max. Load450g1kg
AccessoriesRemote Control (Pod X only)
Travel Case
Pivo Mic
Remote Control (Pods Red/Silver)
Travel Case
Pivo Mic
Pivo Mic
Range60m range
AttachmentClip attachment
FeaturesWind/noise cancelling
Weight15 grams

In the above table showing the difference between the Pivo Pod X vs existing Pivo Red / Silver, there are several significant improvements such as USB Type-C ports, bigger battery, latest Bluetooth 5.1. The max load is lowered for some unknown reason but we are not expecting smartphones to weigh up to 450 rams.

The previous Pivo Pod only has a 500 mAh battery that user feedback has a working 10 hours battery life. The Pod X has closed to 3 times the battery life at 1400mAh but weighs just 74 grams heavier. Nevertheless, some may still feel that 250 grams are an additional weight to carry around as our bags are filled with gadgets, chargers and batteries.

One biggest disadvantage is that all the Pivo Pod models do not have any IP rating, which means they are not certified against dust and water. Any outdoor gadgets should have at least an IPX4 for protection against water splash and sweat.

Users of the previous Pod Red or Silver might want to know that the new remote controls may look similar but they are not compatible with the new Pod X and vice versa.

Review Summary

The Pivo Pod X is a powerful companion for influencers, creators or anyone who like to make motion tracking videos by themselves. However, we feel that the retail price of $355 is too expensive for a gadget that is not even weatherproof while most of the videos are showing outdoor shots.

Furthermore, at that price, there is no indication of the warranty period which we feel they should provide at least 2 years since it does not have any certified weatherproof design.

Source: Kickstarter – Pivo Pod X 

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
error: Alert: Add url